National Fibromyalgia Awareness Day

Thursday, May 12th, is National Fibromyalgia Awareness Day in the US, and my body announces this morning that it is aware.

I will wear purple again this year, but no one will comment upon it, because the world is not aware.

Fibromyalgia is invisible, but it isn’t inaudible; I hear it in the stifled groans and sudden sniffs of pain from strangers.

I hear about Fibromyalgia from drug companies whose drugs sometimes help, though they don’t know why.

I read about Fibromyalgia in my news feeds and, rarely but more commonly, in print media.

If your body, like mine, is aware, I wish you a day free from pain and ongoing comfort and peace.

Gentle hugs.

Leave a Reply

